PDA

View Full Version : Need some Design help here.

Bruce Shiverdecker
07-06-2006, 12:17 AM
I started out to make an entry into the Au Natural thread, but the wood decided differently.

Picture 1 is the chunk of log before I started to work on it.

Well, she decided that she was too modest to go "Au Natural, so most of the bark is gone. Just enough left to be a tease!

Next, I thought, it might make an interesting hollow form! Not to be!

So, here we are. What I believe will be a rather nice looking bowl with an inward curving lip.

Pictures 2 & 3 show it as it now stands. I have the option of leaving a pedestal as a foot or reducing it to a very small foot.

In your opinion, should it have the pedestal to lift it off the table or should I remove the pedestal and leave a small foot?

Don Baer
07-06-2006, 12:21 AM
Bruce,
I am by no means an expert, but to my tastes, I loose the foot all together.

Tom Sherman
07-06-2006, 12:23 AM
Bruce I also am no expert, but I agree with Don loose the foot

Andy Hoyt
07-06-2006, 12:37 AM
Lose the foot. Looks like a mushroom on steroids!

Corey Hallagan
07-06-2006, 12:38 AM
I think it will make a very pleasing to the eye shape as is except without the foot. I like the curved lip like that alot. Nice work Bruce!

Corey

John Timberlake
07-06-2006, 8:31 AM
Make a foot just high enough to make the bowl look like it is floating above the table.

Bernie Weishapl
07-06-2006, 11:04 AM
Lose the foot. Bowl looks nice otherwise.

Mark Cothren
07-06-2006, 1:22 PM
Well, I voted to keep it a pedestal... it's something different...

Keith Burns
07-06-2006, 1:30 PM
Well, I voted to keep it a pedestal... it's something different...

Only you Mark, only you.......................:D

My vote is to loose the foot, but ultimately the decission is yours Bruce. If you like it, keep it.

Bruce Shiverdecker
07-06-2006, 1:58 PM