PDA

View Full Version : Electrical question

Terry Flowers
07-04-2006, 6:39 PM
I am pretty new to the Creek, only a few posts so far, and I appreciate the learning experience and friendly atmosphere. Hopefully, some of you electrical/motor experts can help me with an extension cord issue.

For the benefit of my power tools and motors, I just bought a 40 foot 12 gauge cord reel for a decent price from Harbor Freight. I noticed that the 4' length that plugs into the wall is only 14 gauge, not 12.

I am concerned that this smaller wire size, even though it is a short length, might compromise the benefit of having the 12 guage extension cord.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,

Terry

Rick Christopherson
07-04-2006, 6:44 PM
Because of its short length, no, it will not have a significant impact on the usability of the reel.

Terry Flowers
07-05-2006, 2:40 AM
Thanks Rick.

Terry

Hoa Dinh
07-05-2006, 2:56 AM
Terry,

Please note that when using that cord reel, especially for high amperage tool, you need to pull all the cord out of the reel. Otherwise there is a chance of overheating and the cord may melt, not a pretty scene.

-- Hoa

Charlie Velasquez
07-05-2006, 6:14 AM
For the benefit of my power tools and motors, I just bought a 40 foot 12 gauge cord reel for a decent price from Harbor Freight.

Check the item number.
Harbor Freight has a recall on their "Heavy Duty Industrial Cord Reel"
Item #42053

See here (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/recalls/42053.htm)

If your cord is not the one being recalled, remember that even though the 40' section is 12 gauge, it is probably not rated for 20 amp. The 14 gauge section will limit it to 15 amps; the 12 gauge section is there to help reduce the voltage drop and heat build-up (and as Hoa mentioned, it can still get warm)

tod evans
07-05-2006, 7:10 AM