PDA

View Full Version : Constructive Critisism Wanted

John Abt
07-04-2006, 11:54 AM
Hi,

I introduced myself a few weeks ago. I've come back a few times, but work has been keeping me running.

I've been turning for about six months and I'd like to get your comments on some of my turnings. This is the first time that I've posted photos (I'm not much of a photographer).

Thanks, everyone, I appreciate it.

John Abt

Ken Fitzgerald
07-04-2006, 12:03 PM
John..........I'd say you photographic and turning skills are great! For a person only turning six months you've developed quite well! Great work!

Tom Sherman
07-04-2006, 12:24 PM
I agree with you Ken nice looking work keep em comin John.

Horst Hohoff
07-04-2006, 12:50 PM
Hi John,
I quite like no.s 1,3 + 4 ( from left ) but 1 + 4 are my favourites. I don't really like the shape of no. 2. To me it looks a bit too "square", the sides are too steep; no. 3 looks a lot better in that respect. And I don't like the goblet at all. To me the proportions are not quite right. Stem and foot are too long compared to the bowl. The foot looks a bit too thick, it should be a bit flatter. The stem is too thick too. When using a straight sided stem I would make it a lot thinner, or put a curve on it with the thinnest spot somewhere near the upper third.
This is my personal view, others may not agree, but maybe it is of help.
Horst

Mark Rios
07-04-2006, 12:54 PM
Hi John and welcome if I didn't say it before.

I'm not a turner but I do like alot of the stuff you folks turn out (pun not intended.....well....maybe a little bit intended) I like number 4. Very "natural" looking. I'd say that it's missing just one thing though.......where's the M&M's?

:D

John Abt
07-04-2006, 1:30 PM
Horst,