PDA

View Full Version : Table saw accidents

John Kain
06-30-2006, 6:23 PM
hey guys....

This has probably been asked before. But I'll ask again.

I'm getting a new table saw here pretty soon. I'm a surgeon, and although everyone's fingers are important, mine seem to be my whole life. Since I'm not ready to give up woodworking, I have been drawn to Sawstop obviously. I'm just wondering if it's really worth the extra money. Is it a watered down version of the General 350 or the new Powermatic? I ask because I only expect to get more involved with woodworking as I get more advance in age and want to buy a top-notch saw I'll NEVER have to replace (one I can hand down to my son).

Also would like to hear any "saves" from the SawStop from personal experiences. I guess I'd also like to hear from those who didn't get so lucky with a tablesaw in the past.

Thanks in advance..........

Don Baer
06-30-2006, 6:31 PM
John,
I had the opportunity of looking at the saw at a store and was very impressed with the quality of it. Fine woodworking in the lated issue rated it very high also. If I were in the market for a Cabinate saw it would definitly be high up on my list.

tod evans
06-30-2006, 6:47 PM
john, i think per-n-bob have one that they really like? i`ve never seen one..02 tod

David Duke
06-30-2006, 6:51 PM
John, as you said this has been debated many times and as with most things it comes down to personal choice. Everything I have read about the SawStop for the most part has been positive other than the cost, it seems to be a well built saw with very good dust collection, there have been some posts concerning "unexplained" blade lock events but those have been very few but as I understand it when the blade does "lock" it damages the blade and replacement cartriges are pretty expensive also.