PDA

View Full Version : My 1st (sorta) and 2nd Bowls

Jerry Vander Till
06-28-2006, 9:53 PM
Well, after scoring the sharpening jigs over the weekend, I sharpened up my new bowl gouges and got after it! Maybe I got after it a little too good. This is/was my first bowl. By the time I started figuring out how to present the tool to the wood, I didn't have a lot of wood left :eek:

I believe it's mahogany from a box of wood I've been hauling around for 20 years.

Bowl 2 turned out a little better. It's 1 1/2 by 6 from the same chunk of mahogany(?) as bowl 1, finished with wipe on poly and wax.

No wet curlies, but still a lot of fun!

The vortex sucketh mightily!

Corey Hallagan
06-28-2006, 9:57 PM
Wow, Jerry that is awesome! I have never turned a bowl but I don't think it is that easy to turn a rolled edge like that. You did real good! Nice job Jerry!

Corey

Curt Fuller
06-28-2006, 10:10 PM
Great bowl for a first or even second.

Dennis Peacock
06-28-2006, 10:16 PM
Looks good me to Jerry.!!! Congrats. :cool:

Tom Sherman
06-28-2006, 11:02 PM
A very respectable first and second effort Jerry. Looks like you've been at it for a lot longer than you actually have. Great work.

Bernie Weishapl
06-29-2006, 12:38 AM
Looks good to me Jerry. I like the form and the wood. I am getting ready to turn 8 salad bowls and one 13 1/2" X 5" deep salad bowl out of mahogany for my DIL for Christmas. I really like turning mahogany. Nice wood. Nice job.

Ken Fitzgerald
06-29-2006, 12:55 AM
Excellent bowl Jerry! You are on the fast track! You are a natural! Fantastic 2nd or 22nd bowl!

Mark Cothren
06-29-2006, 7:28 AM
Great work, Jerry! You turned a nice bowl there!

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
06-29-2006, 8:21 AM
Hey Jerry, looks good, and I think you get an award for the largest funnel in a while ;) :D

Yep, BTDT, I ploded a few bowls by getting carried away too!

keep them coming!

Cheers!

Henry C. Gernhardt, III
06-29-2006, 8:41 AM