PDA

View Full Version : A little preview

Kenneth George
06-25-2006, 5:00 PM
Hello everyone, I thought it might be nice to share a little preview of my current project with you. When I got my first lathe in the early 80’s I had visions of incorporating turned pieces into the things that I made. Never got very good at it so in the early 90’s I bought a bigger lathe. Again I found the results of my efforts less than satisfactory. A bit over two years ago I went at turning head on and did nothing with wood that was not turned. I studied and learned. I read everything I could and tried about everything I read. In any case enough with the boring history stuff my point is that I feel confident enough at this time to bring turning into my furniture projects.

So with that I have designed a piece that I am now in the building stages of. It will be my most complex piece yet. About 80% of the individual pieces will be turned and with that this particular piece is without a doubt the largest I have turned yet at 24”. The first piece I am working on is a segmented ring made of Walnut. There are 20 segments and they are glued and then joined with Walnut splines. Here it is on the lathe and I am using a Baltic Birch to support it for the turning process.

http://theturnersshop.com/images/06-25-06/DSCF1812.jpg

I learned quickly that I needed to take very light controlled cuts to keep the plywood from flexing but even so the very dry Walnut is cutting very well. I am running the lathe in reverse and having to do a lot of the cuts left handed.

http://theturnersshop.com/images/06-25-06/DSCF1817.jpg

I have turned my rabbit and have shaped the outside profile of the piece. Here I had wiped it down with mineral sprites to see how it looked. This will be the underside of one of the pieces of what I am making.

http://theturnersshop.com/images/06-25-06/DSCF1819.jpg