PDA

View Full Version : PayPal – Is There a Concern?

Bruce Page
06-23-2006, 5:00 PM
In Keith Outten’s thread “Blank Page Issue Is Intolerable - Let's Talk”, several people have commented that they hate or have misgivings about using PayPal. I’m wondering why that is. I have been using their service for several years now and I haven’t had any issues with them. This is not an endorsement of PayPal in any way – I’m just starting to wonder if I missed something that I should be concerned about. :confused:

Lee DeRaud
06-23-2006, 5:14 PM
It's the Spawn of Ebay.:D :p

Bob Childress
06-23-2006, 5:23 PM
Well, it may be the spawn of e-Bay but I like it a lot. It is the small businessman's debit card and credit card acceptance provider. I have been using it for years to both send and receive money, not only on the big auction site but also with my domain name registrar, certain foreign transactions, and of course SMC contributions. :)

IMHO it is the greatest thing since sliced bread. I do not like writing checks any more and between on-line bill pay, debit cards, and PayPal, I only have to write maybe one every two months. I think it just comes down to everyone's comfort zone. Some folks don't trust on-line banking and some do. They can steal your checks out of your mailbox or they can hack into your account on-line. Either way it's a crap shoot.

(Plus, I save the postage:D )

Glenn Clabo
06-23-2006, 5:26 PM
Bruce,
I just had this discussion with the guys in work today. I couldn't believe how some of them insisted that it was "totally" unsafe...based on stories they have heard or read on the internet. It maybe just not understanding how it works...but I think it's like many things nowadays...much of what you read and hear needs a VERY fine filter.