PDA

View Full Version : Installation & Impressions of a Byrd Head

Dan Larson
06-21-2006, 10:09 PM
Well, it’s finally done-- the Shelix head is in my Rojek J/P combination machine!

First of all, I’d like to thank the folks at Byrd, TechMark (Rojek USA</ST1:p), and a few helpful Creekers for their technical assistance. I had no previous experience doing this sort of thing, and everyone’s input helped make the project go pretty smoothly.

My main motivation to upgrade from the standard 4-knife cutterhead that came with the machine was convenience. I'm a hobbyist with very limited shop time. When I'm in the shop I want to working with wood. I don't want to be fiddling around with J/P knives any more than I have to. Lately I've been working with tropical hardwoods, so the knives have required more frequent attention than I'm willing to provide.

So why Byrd over Tersa? The Tersa would have been less hassle for me since the head is an off the shelf item from Rojek. I was at first leaning in this direction and was kicking myself for not ordering the optional Tersa when I bought the machine. A call to the Rojek sales rep changed my mind. He told me that the Byrd head was cheaper than upgrading to the Tersa at this point and also gave a much better cut. It's worth pointing out that the cut quality issue of the Tersa is specific to my machine. The inferior cut with this head is the result of the machine's relatively high planer feed rate in combination with the Tersa head for my machine only being a 3 knife set-up. Well anyway, it was a no-brainer choice based on this information alone. It's nice that the Byrd was supposed to be quieter and less prone to tear-out, but these potential advantages just seemed to be icing on the cake for me. Since Byrd head upgrades have been discussed frequently in this forum, I did question if I had let myself get sucked into a bit of hype...