PDA

View Full Version : Battery Back-up

Joe Nagel
06-15-2006, 7:03 PM
Hello everyone
I'm a newbie here but I have been reading the posts for a few months and have been able to learn alot from everyone.

Now I have a question that I haven't seen mentioned. Last night as I was engraving a $250 bottle of cognac for a customer and I got to thinking what happens if my electric power to the house goes out in the middle of the run? :mad:
Does anyone use a UPS (uninteruptable power supply) or any kind of back-up power on their laser? and if so what size would I use? I have a 25watt epilog mini.

Thanks!
Joe

Joe Pelonio
06-15-2006, 8:10 PM
I had an APC 350VA 200 Watt UPS with both the PC and laser on it. The first time the power flickered I found it to be way too little for the laser, so I added another and now have one for each. Unfortunately (or fortunately?) it hasn't gone out again so I don't know how long the laser would run on it. I'm guessing not long enough to finish a job. Without a much heftier UPS you'd have to go back and add white on top of the areas already engraved and restart it, which could be tricky. Especially with an expensive bottle of cognac. Maybe Epilog Tech Support can tell you what you'd need in a UPS.

Jim A. Walters
06-16-2006, 12:16 AM
I installed a 3300va monster on my system. Got it reasonable (except for shipping) on eBay. It has the separate connector on back to hook more batteries to it. I was thinking of hooking a deep cycle marine battery to it for longer outages. We have a production job that needs 23 minutes to finish a rack of 42 plates. I must admit, I haven't crash tested it yet. I think that I will test it once we move into the new office. This size UPS requires a 30 amp dedicated circuit. It has one of those large twist lock plugs.

Joe Pelonio
06-21-2006, 1:49 PM
I just had something go right related to this issue. I happened to be standing next to the laser when the lights blinked and I went onto the