PDA

View Full Version : Running a natural gas line???

Doug Jones
09-12-2003, 1:29 PM
I just got a vent free gas heater for the shop/ garage, for winter heating. I was wondering if running a line is difficult or not. Or is this something I should have a professional do?. I am aware of the hazards if fittings are not connected corectly and all the warnings and how to check for leaks. But I have never done this before and I need some opionins/help on this. (Don't want to blow up the whole house and all)

Should I tie into the line that runs to the upstairs room and run it across the attic then down into the garage or tie into the line under the house drill a hole in the block then into the garage? Can I run the new line outside along the foundation (aprox. 7 ft.)then into the garage?

Is copper pipe ok or should I go with the heavier galvanised pipe?

Any help is greatly appreciated, Doug

Steve Clardy
09-12-2003, 1:50 PM
Doug, I would hook to the line under the house then to garage. I would think having all that extra line in the attic might be a future problem. I would keep it outside as much as possible.
On the line, I do not see a problem with copper. I use L.P. gas, and have two coppers underground.
But there are no codes here on this, so check your codes first. They may require something else. Better to do it their way first than having to do it twice. Steve, not a pro gas hooker-upper. Steve

Jim McFall
09-12-2003, 2:38 PM
Doug,
I have run miles of Natural gas piping for furnaces in houses. Tap in where it is the closest. If you go' thru a block wall, put a plastic sleeve over the pipe and then just put some caulk around the hole.
I highly recommend Black Iron pipe. Do not use Copper. It is effected by the chemicals in the gas and then it flakes off and clogs the gas valve on your unit.