PDA

View Full Version : Moving Tools

Larry Klaaren
06-14-2006, 11:05 PM
Hi all,

After fifteen months of studying and working through red tape, I finally restored my veterinary license this month. I had accidentally allowed it to expire when my forwarding address expired and the renewal on my three year licenses in Iowa and Minnesota weren't forwarded to me. (I was working in another profession at the time, and just didn't notice it.) Unfortunately for me, the licensing criteria changed in the meantime and I needed an exam called the Clinical Competency Exam, which did not exist when I graduated. The Indiana Board made me take the National Licensing Exam, which I passed (28 years after graduation), as well as a state jurisprudence exam.

So . . . I applied for an Illinois license also, and I've accepted a position in Plainfield, Illinois, and we are moving up there, or to the Frankfort area, as soon as we can find housing. My wife is up there looking, and I am packing.

Here's my question: anything I need to know about moving my tools? Most of my tools are bench tools, and I guess we'll pad them and get them into boxes if we can find some large enough.

What about hand tools, like wrenches, hammers, and chisels? I broke them into two tool boxes, one for each vehicle, and the rest are in a rolling cabinet. I wrapped up the router bits, drill bits, and things like that.

As far as routers and circular saws, etc. I have the original boxes for some and I wrapped them all and put them into the cabinets for moving.

I don't know if we are going to get movers. Depends how deep the housing gets into our funds.

Thanks in advance,
Larry

tod evans
06-15-2006, 8:51 AM
larry, sounds like you`ve got the tools under control. congratulations on passing the exams! moving the tools yourself is much wiser than hiring it out if you can do it...02 tod

Kyle Kraft
06-15-2006, 9:13 AM
The only person I trust to move heavy machinery is myself, or maybe my millwright buddies.