PDA

View Full Version : Reshaping a bowl gouge with the Varigrind

Tim Solley
06-13-2006, 7:27 PM
Hi all,

I'm still brand new to turning (read four pens and a couple small bowls). I bought a Oneway Varigrind for sharpening my bowl gouge after I quickly realized that I can't do it very well freehand. I also built a Wolverine clone sharpening jig.

The bowl gouge is a Sorby 3/8". The grind that it came with is not the same on the sides as on the front. With the Varigrind, it seems that the grind angle will be the same all the way around.

So my question is this: is it okay to just reshape the sides of the gouge until everything matches up all the way around? I could just grind it on a courser wheel and then finish up on the finer wheel.

Thanks for any input you all could provide. Your expert advice is always appreciated.

Tim

Vaughn McMillan
06-13-2006, 8:48 PM
Tim, I don't know if you've seen these, but Oneway has some handy videos on their site, including one that shows what I believe is the answer to your question:

http://www.oneway.on.ca/multi-media/wolverine_videos.htm

I know these videos helped me figure out how to use my Wolverine clone from PSI.

- Vaughn

Andy Hoyt
06-13-2006, 9:04 PM
Tim - For me, the success of the Varigrind has centered around setting the jig and the Wolverine up with the sides of the gouge against the wheel - not the tip.

Sharpen away on both sides. Then just kiss the tip to the wheel.

If you grind the tip with the same force (which shouldn't be all that much anyway) as the sides you'll continually get things cattywampus.

Light pressure and grind away, including the tip. Having a consistent bevel all the way around the gouge is really handy when you're making those fussy little finishing cuts.

And Vaughn's right - the Oneway videos do help.

Jim Becker
06-13-2006, 9:45 PM