PDA

View Full Version : General Laser Engraver Questions

Dan Rasmussen
06-12-2006, 2:47 PM
Hello All,

I am new to Sawmill Creek and not really a woodworker but you guys really seem to know your lasers over here so I figured I would ask here to see if you can help me.

I am in the market for a laser engraver primarily to cut matte board and masonite (sorry about that to those fine wood workers out there). I have been considering Epliog, VersaLaser, and GCC. I have had demos on the Versalaser and the Epliog. I also got a demo on a used laserpor mercury.

I was very impressed with both the Epliog and Versalaser. The 25 Watt Versalaser cut the quarter inch masonite nicely in two passes. The 45 Watt Epilog cut it in one pass at 90% power and 15% speed. The Epliog also cut thinner, tempered, masonite in a single pass at 60% power. Besides time, is there anything I need to worry about if I have to make two passes to cut through the material?

Now on to the Laserpro Mercury. This was supposed to be a 60 watt model but it could not cut through the tempered masonite until the owner put it at 100% power and 1.5% speed. Something doesn't seem right here. It is supposed to be 3 years old, could the tube be on the way out or is it more likely not really a 60 Watt tube. If the tube is dying, how much is it to get it reconditioned/replaced? I have looked all over the internet and actually asked for a quote from a large pinnacle dealer but I still have no answer or quote. Does anyone know what brand of tube goes in this machine, if its user replacable (I some good electronics repair experience, including Ham radio alignment and repair, video monitor repair, etc.). Can a service guide be had for this machine?