PDA

View Full Version : Father's Day gift done with PICs

Craig Stueve
06-10-2006, 6:07 PM
Seeing all of the beautiful and inspiring work done by the members here I am a bit hesitant to post a completed project. But this was a special project for me so I'll give it a go.

First and foremost I am an AMATEUR woodworker. No part of my income is derived from it. My motives are purely self gratification, entertainment, and hopefully some gained knowledge with each completed project. If I can make something for either myself or someone else that they enjoy or fills a need for them I am satisfied. My first real WWing project was a simple painted headboard that I made for my Mothers Day 2 years ago. By all accounts that was a big success. Between then and now I have managed to get out of my apartment and into a house with a nice 16X28 heated garage. I have a good compliment of tools and the space to use them now. I decided to make my Dad a rolling tool cabinet similar to one I found in Shop Notes. The cabinet is constructed using oak shorts and plywood. I added a couple of pieces of walnut to the top to add a little character to the piece. I tried so many new techniques and learned so much doing this I can't even begin to list them all.

As I said this was special to me. Largely because as a young man I wanted to be able to make the same things that he was able to, but never had the patience to learn. I constantly heard "You need to build a damn bird house before you build a real house." As a bull head young man who certainly new it all I resented that and withdrew from WWing for some time. Now many years later I understand the wisdom of those words and often thought about them while I was building and especially while I was finishing this. My Father will be coming down to see my new place for the first time on Father's Day and has absolutely no idea that I have built anything for him. I am nervous and excited to see his reaction next Sunday.