PDA

View Full Version : Attaining bevel w/o bench grinder

maurice biddles
09-10-2003, 9:51 PM
Newbie here with four older Baileys, some glass, sand paper and the library's copy of 'The Handplane Book'. All was going well but after sharpening my blades a few times I think I have rounded over the bevel on atleast two of the irons. I'm not using any gigs to sharpen and I don't have a bench grinder or access to one (unless somewhere out the in webland happens to live near LaCosta Rd and Rancho Sante Fe Rd :) ). On a very tight budget.

If the bevels are indeed rounded what should my next step be? Can I flatten the bevel using the things I have and if so what grit paper would you suggest? If not, are there any inexpensive alternatives to a bench grinder? In the book, Hack shows a small "grindstone" thingy attached to a hand drill to slightly hollow the back of the irons. Is this something I could get at the Depot to help with the bevel?

When and if some $$$ does come my way, what are absolute essentials (minimum req) I need to get with a bench grinder? I also have Lee's 'The Complete Guide to Sharpening' and he mentions new grinding wheel(s), wheel dresser, and some type of tool rest.

Thanks in advance for the help
maurice

Matt Woodworth
09-11-2003, 12:29 AM
I can totally relate to what you're going through. I've been making my way down the same path except that I'm a few weeks ahead of you.

Personally, I am nervous about using a high speed grinder to sharpen chisels and plane irons. However, a $40 grinder and $20 wheel would be one way to set the bevel.