PDA

View Full Version : Black Locust?

Roger Myers
06-03-2006, 12:26 PM
During the storms of the last couple of days I lost most of a black locust tree by our back deck. Today or tomorrow I'll cut it up... main trunks are about 6-8" in diameter, so not all that big but maybe a few small bowl blanks, stoppers, pens, tool handles, etc...
I've never turned black locust and searched and saw a few threads on here about it.... Anybody with experience with this have any particular advice about how it turns, what it might be best suited for, and any advice on cutting/preparing blanks. I was going to cut into 24" lengths and anchor seal the ends until I knew more about what to do with it, but perhaps I should go right into smaller blanks?? What say you more experienced folks??
Thanks...
Roger

Bernie Weishapl
06-03-2006, 12:48 PM
Roger you will probably get better advise from the experience turners. I have been turning now for about 6 months. I have turned black locust and it turns pretty good when green. I roughed out a couple of bowls from it and then soaked it in DNA then dried. I did find out when dry it is like concrete. It is a really hard wood but sure does make some pretty bowls. I think you could make any of what you said with that wood. It depends on the size of the bowls I am going to turn as to how long I cut the logs. How I was told by some SMC'ers was if I want to turn a 8" bowl out of a log I would cut it long enough for 2 bowls that big 16" plus 6" on each end for waste. So I cut my logs about 30" long so in case the ends crack I can cut some off and still have enough for bowls. I have some Ash, Elm and Honey Locust in log form and some have been laying for 3 to 4 months. I have found that they can crack into the log sometimes up to 4" or so. So I would account for that. I always leave them 6" longer on each end just in case. Here is a couple of pictures of my first bowl which was black locust. Hope that helps.