PDA

View Full Version : Problem with drawing holes through groups

Detlef Fallisch
05-30-2006, 6:38 PM
Hi woodworkers,

This is my first append on this forum so let me introduce myself. My name is Detlef Fallisch. I am a German woodworker, woodrat user and since two weeks a fan of SketchUp. My aim is to build a work bench similar like that Dave made as SketchUp model. I started with the drawing of a leg for the workbench. But now I have reached a point where I need help from an experienced user.

My problem is very simple, but it seems that I have a blackout. I wanted to draw one of the legs of the workbench. This leg will be made from three single boards and because I wanted to have a separate drawing for each of this three boards, I made three groups in SketchUp. In the completed leg the three boards shall remain visible.

I used the move tool to "glue" the three boards (groups) on one edge together.

Next I wanted to drill a hole through all three boards. If I edit the first group (board), I can draw a circle on the surface and use the push/pull tool to make the hole. But that hole goes only through the first board. What I wanted, was a hole through the all three boards (groups).

So I tried a rather complicated solution: first moved the first board away from the two others, edited the group, draw a circle used the push/pull tool to make a hole. After repeating the same procedure to the other two boards I finally moved the boards (groups) together again.

But I am sure there must be an easier way. So I tried next to ungroup the the three separate groups and made a single group from all three boards. But now I lost the geometry from my three single boards because the planes where the boards will be glued together in reality, are deleted in the model when the hole is pushed through.

Next I tried to use a cylinder and intersect it with the three single boards. But whenever I try to edit the first group (board) I don't see the cylinder that intersected the boards.