PDA

View Full Version : 1 joint plane

Raymond Stanley
05-25-2006, 4:52 PM
Hi all!

I'm an ultra-newbie. I've been getting very excited about doing woodwork with hand tools since I visited highland hardware last week, and then I found the old tools archive + "fine woodworking," and now sawmill creek just today!

I've pretty much figured out my arsenal for the faces and edges of boards, now I just need to figure out what equipment I need for joints!

Per Derek Cohen's review of the vertias router plane, it seems that a saw, chisel, and router plane can combine to do grooves, dados, and tenons.

Since a cross-grain rabbet is the same as a dado with no outside edge, and a with-grain rabbet is the same as a groove with no outside edge...can a router plane do these the appropriate jigs/set up?

I am just getting into this hobby and am trying to start as cheaply as possible, since I have a bad habit of switching hobbies, am living on a graduate stipend, and am getting married in a month. Was thinking I could get all my joint work done with adding only one plane to what I thought was everything I needed (measure tools, surfacing planes, chisels, and saws).

Thanks!
Ray

P.S. If anybody has a handtool-oriented shop in Atlanta, and would consider showin me the ropes, send me a PM!

Maurice Metzger
05-25-2006, 9:31 PM
Welcome Raymond!

The minimal set of planes needed is a subject that's near and dear to my heart, and I look forward to what others with more experience will say.

My recommendation would actually be two planes - a rabbet plane like a Stanley 78, and a Stanley 271 small router plane. But this is based on the assumption that at first most of your grooves will be for drawer bottoms. For this you can cut 1/4" grooves with the 271. The rabbet plane would only be used for rabbets.

One problem with this recommendation is that 271's seem a bit overpriced right now, at least to me. Hopefully someone will start manufacturing a replacement.

- Maurice

Dennis McDonaugh