PDA

View Full Version : Is it dry yet?

Jerry Ingraham
05-25-2006, 11:58 AM
Ok, this may seem, and probably is, a naive question but what the hey! I have been purchasing some blanks on ebay and I'm wondering how do I tell if they're dry enough to turn to completion or not? I do not have a moisture meter and I obviously can tell if they're quite green by the shavings and the way they come off, but what about one that has been drying for say six months in it's 3" thick form? When you turn it, it seems dry but is it? Maybe if it seems dry, it is:rolleyes: . I'm still relatively new to this and am trying to avoid the trial and error of drying time by calling upon the vast amount of experience here! Thanks.

Jerry

Mark Cothren
05-25-2006, 12:11 PM
I don't have a good answer for you... my method is "when in doubt, drowned it in DNA and let it dry a couple of weeks".

If you're spending money for these blanks on e-bay (or anywhere else), I'd err on the side of caution.

Just my .02 worth...

John Timberlake
05-25-2006, 12:15 PM
Good question, Jerry. And I don't know the answer. You really need to know before you start turning, and a thicker blank may be "dry" on the outside but not on the inside. And what is dry for turning is probably not as dry as you need for furniture or boxes. And of course the coating on the outside of most blanks will affect how long it needs to dry. I turn mostly "dry" blanks, so I am very interested in the answers you get.

Raymond Overman
05-25-2006, 12:29 PM
Does it feel dry? Is it heavy? Does it feel cool when you put it to your cheek? Has it been cut in the last two weeks? month? two years? When left in an area of fairly constant humidity does the blank lose weight over a period of 2-3 days? Do you really want to turn bone dry wood from rough to finish?

Now for the real answer...