PDA

View Full Version : Dovetail angle question.

Andy Howard
05-25-2006, 11:05 AM
I have recently started hand cutting my dovetails, and had a general question about them.

Does the chosen angle/ratio make any difference in the difficulty of getting a good joint with tight fit between the pins and tails?

It seems to me that a higher degree would make the fit a bit more critical, but I am no expert.

Any experts want to chime in on this?

Thanks
Andy

Alan DuBoff
05-25-2006, 11:27 AM
Does the chosen angle/ratio make any difference in the difficulty of getting a good joint with tight fit between the pins and tails?

It seems to me that a higher degree would make the fit a bit more critical, but I am no expert.No expert here, but the angle doesn't really have much impact on the difficulty, IMO.

When cutting a dovetail, no matter if you start from pins or tails first, it's the second piece that gets marked from the first. IOW, you use the tails to make the pins, or the pins to mark the tails. It is cuting the 2nd piece that determines how well the joint fits. Being able to saw to a line helps a lot!

Dennis McDonaugh
05-25-2006, 11:31 AM
Not in my experience. In theory the angle is chosen for the type of wood you are using, but I really haven't seen any difference in durability between 1:8 and 1:6 in different types of woods. I'd choose the one most pleasing to your eye. Sawing to the line will have the most impact on how the joint goes together.

harry strasil
05-25-2006, 11:35 AM
Andy, I learned how to cut dovetails from a real old timer, and from old manuals on the subject, the softer the wood, the more the angle, I use 10° on hardwood and 20° on soft wood. Some of the younger WW's will probably use something different.