PDA

View Full Version : House wiring problems

Byron Trantham
09-06-2003, 2:08 PM
I have a circuit that is dropping voltage (lamp dims) when any appreciable load is applied - an iron for example. I removed all outlets and checked for loose or corroded connections. This is a GFI circuit controlling bathroom, outside and garage outlets. I have not replaced the breaker because it seems to be working. I did replace the two outlets on the outside of the house. Any ideas on how to track this problem down? :confused:

Don Abele
09-06-2003, 2:46 PM
Let me start by saying I am not an electrician, but have a lot of electrical experience (I've worked with electricians for the past 10 years and have done a lot of inspected home wiring).

Voltage drop in a line (dimming lights) is caused by too little supply for an particular demand. This is usually caused by undersized wiring.

A 120v 15A circuit uses 14g wire for up to 50 feet of run or 12g wire for lengths of 50-100 feet. For a 20A circuit it's 12g wire up to 50 feet and 10g for 50-100 feet.

If the wiring is undersized for a particular load, not only will you see diming lights, but under full load the wiring will get hot. This is a major fire waiting to happen. The only way to fix it is remove loads from the line or rewire it.

You don't state whether this is a new problem or something that has been around a while. If it's new, I would tend to think that there may be a short in the line somewhere which is decreasing line voltage. If you are familiar (and comfortable) with electricity, you can use a mult-meter to check line voltage and potential across the legs and this will help some. If you're not, hire an electrician, because as I said, if this line is overloaded you could have a potential fire.