PDA

View Full Version : Frame cutting sled (45*)

Nissim Avrahami
05-17-2006, 5:27 PM
Good day

My name is niki and its my first post in your very, very active forum.
I live in Poland (after Israel and Japan) and I’m an amateur.

I would like to share with you a different way (to my knowledge) of making 45* frames.

Instead of messing with angles and protractors, I’m using big dedicated triangle.

The cutting method is “Left” and “Right” of the blade to overcome any small deviations from 45*.

The rest is on the pictures.

One important point:
As you will see, the blade will cut ½ kerf width at every cut, and because we are cutting each frame member from both sides, the member length will be reduced by 1 kerf width.
To make it clear, if your blade kerf is 1/8”, and you are planing a frame of, say, 20” x 20”, cut your members to, what I call in the pictures “final dimensions” of, 20-1/8” so after the cutting the will be 20”.

Regards
niki

Nissim Avrahami
05-17-2006, 5:29 PM
Part 2 pictures

Jerry Strojny
05-17-2006, 5:32 PM
Great idea. And way cheaper than a manufactured one.

Michael Ballent
05-17-2006, 6:41 PM
Now that is very clever :D and thank you for using inches instead of mm ;) :D Thanks for sharing!!! One question what is the red looking tape?

Nissim Avrahami
05-17-2006, 6:54 PM
Thank you for the comments

Michael
The red and/or the blue tapes are “anti-skid” tapes which come with glue (you just peel the paper), in Japan they come in 3 feet length for $1.
About the inches, I was working all my life with both methods (9/16” is “visual” for me).

niki

Allen Bookout
05-17-2006, 7:17 PM
Very good report! Good, clear explanations are a difficult thing to do. Even I could follow the directions. Allen

Sam Chambers
05-18-2006, 12:32 PM
Niki:

A very cool, clever and cheap idea! Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us.

Tom Jones III
05-18-2006, 2:43 PM
Great first post! Thanks for the clear and detailed explanation.

Sam Blanchard
05-18-2006, 4:08 PM