PDA

View Full Version : Garage door web site and logo question

Jeff Horton
05-11-2006, 11:14 AM
I have been talking about my woodworking web site forever it seems. Finally took some time to work on it a little bit. This is a link to the pages I did on the garage doors. Still tweaking them but it's close.

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/gdoors/index.shtml

Now the question. Working on ideas for logos and hit one something I really like. I torn between the two and curious to as which you like best. Just made a poll to make it easy

BTW, they both need a little tweaking in the text so don't get up tight over the spacing. I will work on that.

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/logo.jpg

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/logo2.gif

Tim Solley
05-11-2006, 12:36 PM
Jeff,

I like the doors. They look great and I like the garage door opener adaptation.

As for your logos, why not keep both of them in your tool bag? I like the one with the wood grain. However, as a web designer myself, I can tell you that the one with the white background is useful. If you replace the white with a clear background, that logo will sit nicely on top of any background without looking like a big box. It will blend in better. You can do this in most imaging software programs.

So just hold on to both is my vote. They look great.

Tim

Helen Gee
05-11-2006, 12:55 PM
Hey Jeff,

I agree with Tim that the white background will be easier to work with in the website or at least a transparent background. It'll show up better with the contrast, but the grain background looks really nice as well. And it'll be easier to use if you plan to do use it in biz cards, letterhead, envelopes, etc. Are you going to leave them as b/w or color? I think color will give it some more oomph and with the grain background, it'll pop the logo out ;)

Tim Solley
05-11-2006, 1:00 PM