PDA

View Full Version : Quality of Crown tools

Chuck Saunders
05-08-2006, 11:56 AM
I picked up a pair of marking knives at Woodcraft the other day made by Crown. They didn't seem very sharp, after putting a good edge on I went to trim a rough spot on my fingernail and put a good nick in the blade. The point blunted almost instantly. Is this a knife that missed the heat treatment leg of the tour or am I expecting a higher quality than this manufacturer is known for?
Not bagging on anyone, just learning the ropes
Thanks
Chuck

Alan DuBoff
05-08-2006, 12:00 PM
Chuck,

Sometimes edge tools require that you sharpen them a couple or three times to get down to the heat treated steel, and in this case it just might be the case that it needs to be sharpened a couple times. Are these drawknives?

DISCLAIMER: I'm no expert on sharpening, and why I own a Lap-Sharp! ;) But I've seen folks mention this with other new edge tools before.

Chuck Saunders
05-08-2006, 12:07 PM
Thanks Alan, maybe that is what is happening. Not draw knives but marking knives, good for making a finer line than a pencil. Should be harder than a pencil and keep its' point linger too.
Thanks
Chuck

Dave Anderson NH
05-08-2006, 4:31 PM
I had the same problem a number of years ago when I bought the Crown knives. They are not hard enough and the steel nicks and/or bends over. My experiences with Crown tools generally has not been a positive one. I had to return a bevel gage some years ago because the drilled hole for the steel bevel was off center and the gage would only stand up on the wooden part in one direction since the metal blade couldn't be completely retracted into the body. My Crown skew chisels are barely acceptable and won't hold an edge very long. They seem to spend more effort and time on polishing and other cosmetics than on making a usable tool.

Mike Henderson
05-08-2006, 5:37 PM