PDA

View Full Version : Extremely disappointed!

Greg Ladd
05-07-2006, 9:33 AM
Hello all,

There was a General 14" planer on fleabay that I desperately wanted. I had entered a bid with sniping software and was anxiously watching to see if I was going to need to increase my bid.

This morning I woke up and checked the listing and it was gone. The listing was cancelled with 2 days left to go!

I have been keeping my eyes open for one to these planers for a few years and this one looked clean. It was also located within driving distance.

I have sent some emails to the seller but it is probably gone. Why would someone in good conscience list something with a reserve and then pull the listing, before the end of the auction,provided there wasn't an previously unknown defect?

I will be very upset if it was sold outside of ebay. I had emailed the seller via ebay to find out if there he had a buy it now price.

Can you tell I really wanted this planer?

Sorry, just venting,
Greg

Tim Morton
05-07-2006, 9:39 AM
I am guessing someone contacted him and offered him enough to cancel the auction...."or" possibly ebay cancelled it. Did he use any photos that may have belonged to someone else? I listed a factory scion hed unit for sale and used someone elses photo...and they cancelled the acution on me and not onl charged me for the auction fees's but recharged me again when I relisted. Ask me how I feel about ebay lately:D

Sorry for the loss...maybe next it was for the best.

Greg Ladd
05-07-2006, 10:22 AM
Tim,

I have been very happy with ebay for the few items I have bought and sold.

But they do seem a little arbitrary at times.

The seller has emailed me. His listing was yanked by ebay because he had the words 'not Delta or Powermatic' in the listing. I know I have seen similar language before.

He still has it for sale. We are negotiated but he isn't in a position where he has to sell it. We'll see what happens.

Greg

John Bailey
05-07-2006, 12:40 PM