PDA

View Full Version : Woodworking, Railroading and Babies?

Travis Johnson
05-06-2006, 4:31 PM
This project was a series of firsts for me. With my first child due to arrive in 9 weeks, as a woodworker I had to make her the obligatory wooden cradle. Yet as a 3rd generation railroader, I also wanted something really unique, so I designed this unique locomotive shaped cradle. Continuing with the theme of firsts, this is my first project where I used handcut dovetails and handcut lovetails as well.

In the end it will serve double duty to our daughet. Because of all the work that went into this cradle, I deliberatly made the rockers quite mild so that this cradle will be stable enough to serve as a toybox long after she outgrows the cradle portion of it.

Just thought some of you would like to see this with more pictures located at:http://www.railroadmachinist.com/Wood_Cradle.html

http://www.railroadmachinist.com/sitebuilder/images/Train_Cradle-217x140.jpg

John Miliunas
05-06-2006, 5:05 PM
Wow Travis, how absolutely cool and unique!!! :) With the un-ending attention to details, such as the "Lovetails", I can see how you racked up 300 hours into it. (If it makes you feel any better, I figure it would've taken me about the same...Times 3!!!:rolleyes: ) Yes, truly a labor of love and a piece, which I'm sure, your wonderful daughter will appreciate for many, many years to come! Good job, Travis! :) :cool:

William Lewis
05-06-2006, 5:58 PM
That is so cool. I really love the detail you put into the design and craftsmanship. Great job.

William Lewis

Jim O'Dell
05-06-2006, 6:07 PM
That is just unbelievable!!!! I'd say in combining your loves, you hit the proverbial nail square on the head and drove it 6" deep in one stroke! Travis, you done good. I'm sure you daughter will treasure this as she grows, and it will take on even more special meaning as she presents it to your grandchild in about 25 years!! BRAVO!!!! Jim.

Corey Hallagan
05-06-2006, 6:53 PM