View Full Version : Delta Grand Edition, Need to know if It's a good deal.

Chad McAllister
05-04-2006, 8:39 PM
Hello folks,
I Have a buddy of mine selling a 10" Right tilt Unisaw with a 52" Unifence. It has a plaque on it that says "Grand Edition Unisaw Manufactured by Delta Especially for Kay Fisher" I've looked eveywhere for info on this saw and the Cat # off the cabinet is 36-816.
My #1 Question is Is it worth the grand he's asking for it? I noticed It has a 52" Unifence, system with the table. It also has a mobile base 50-284, and also a uniguard blade guard 34-976. It seems, to me (and I'm no expert) to be in good shape, I also know that it was purchased from woodworkers warehouse in 1999, and has a 3HP motor. If anyone has some more opinions, or thinks this deal is worth it please let me know. It's seems like a good deal to me, but 1000 bucks is alot of money and I'd feel a little more confident if I had some advice from people who know about these things.

Chris Rosenberger
05-04-2006, 9:09 PM
I believe the saw alone is worth $1,000. With the uniguard & mobile base it is a bargain at that price.

Alan Turner
05-04-2006, 9:13 PM
I am sure that I am in the minority here, but to me the Unifence is a better fence than the Bies or Bies clones. That is a good buy.

Tim Clark
05-04-2006, 9:30 PM
Pull the trigger on that one Chad, before somebody else does it first.

I'm no expert but it borders on a steal at a Grand. It's a nice grab at the very least.

Jim Becker
05-04-2006, 9:48 PM
Good deal in my book...the only difference between that saw and other UniSaws is the paint color. (It was just a special edition in...um...Jet White...LOL...I had the contractors' style saw version before I bought my cabinet saw) With all the extras, a grand is a good price. IMHO.

Bruce Page
05-04-2006, 10:34 PM