PDA

View Full Version : Brand New to Site and Laser Engraving

Mark Fitzmorris
05-04-2006, 5:08 PM
Hi I just found this site this morning and wish I had found it months ago (it would have saved me alot of research time). I have just retired from the Coast Guard and am starting a gift and engraving business. I have ordered a Laserpro Mecury 25 watt and just got a call from the shipping company that it will be here tomorrow. The rep will be here next week to set it up and provide training. I am new to engraving and want to make sure that I get the most out of the training is there any thing that you all would suggest I ask about while he is here? Also any lessons learned from those of you that have already started and are running your business would be greatly apprecated! I have spent a good part of this day reading the threads on here and this looks like a great site, I am very happy that I found it many questions that I have been wondering about I found answers to here!

Mark Fitzmorris

Bruce Volden
05-04-2006, 5:21 PM
Mark, There are a lot of knowledgeable folks here at the creek who will be more than happy in anyway they can to assist you and answer question, share files etc. Good luck in your endevours. Where are you located??Bruce

Dave Jones
05-04-2006, 5:44 PM
I'd suggest trying to get your hands on a small assortment of materials that you might be wanting to engrave, and slap together a few simple designs so you can have the rep use some of those while teaching. The designs and materials he brings may make your laser look great, but once he leaves you'll be using your designs and your materials.

One tip I picked up here that I think is great is to have a notebook next to the laser and each time you experiment with new material, write down the power and speed settings that worked best, and any comments about the results. If it's a material you don't use often, you might forget the details by the next time you use it.

Mitchell Andrus
05-04-2006, 6:23 PM