PDA

View Full Version : Holes....

Cory Davis
05-04-2006, 9:00 AM
Hi yall..

Fist time post here, and I'd like to thank everyone for the great information I've recieved off this site so far in my lurking.

I'm fairly new to turning. I've done a few pens, so far. Some have come out really well, and some have come out.... not so well.... Sorry for not having any pics, yet, but I've now learned to take some BEFORE showing things to LOML (which leads to "OOOOOO.. Is that for me?", and gets toted to her office, never to be seen by me again).

Recently, I went out to my folks house and saved some mesquite from the burn pile. I decided that I was going to try my hand at a small bowl from this wood. I got the outside of the bowl turned, and it's looking good so far. I found that it has quite a few bug holes in it that I didn't originally see (adds character, right?). Well, that's left me in a situation where I'm not quite sure what to do next.

I've seen some very nice turnings posted here, with and without the holes filled. I've decided that I want to fill them in this one, and I want them filled with something dark. I've seen people say that they've filled with black epoxy, and sometimes coffee grounds, and I think that either one of these options would get the look that I want.

I guess my main question is.... how?

Do I need to fill these before I turn the inside? Do I wait till it's turned and thinner before I fill, and then have to return both inside and out? I think I understand the coffee ground method, but that sure does seem like alot of CA to take care of the larger holes. As for the epoxy, I'm not sure I've actually ever seen it come in black. Do you / how do you color it? Or, do I just have blinders on and it's sitting right in front of my face?

Sorry if the answers to these questions seem obvious, I just don't get some of 'em. Any info you could give me would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Cory

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
05-04-2006, 9:11 AM