PDA

View Full Version : Woodtek Planer---any experience?

Stan Mijal
04-29-2006, 1:41 PM
Want to get a 15" stationary planer. Since I work alone (recreational shop) and do not usually have someone at the other end to "catch" boards going through and must rely on roller stands to help, the fixed base/moveable cutterhead model planers are beginning to look like a good choice. Jet and Delta are definite contenders, then I notice Woodworkers Supply has a 15" "Woodtek" model for an unbelievable $600 delivered price. Never wanting to overspend, but also knowing some machinery is just not worth its cost, I wondered if anyone has any personal experience with Woodtek planers?

Stan

Jeff Horton
04-29-2006, 8:21 PM
I usually refrain from posting an answer when I have no experience and someone (you) asks for experience to answer.

But, this old saying came to mind when I read your post. If it sounds to good to be true, it probably is."

Stan Mijal
04-29-2006, 8:57 PM
Then again, with that color combination ( grass green and bumble bee yellow) maybee they HAVE to price them that low to get rid of them!:D

Burt Waddell
04-29-2006, 9:50 PM
Stan,

I believe you meant to saw Woodworkers Supply. Woodteck is their house brand. I have no experience with the Woodteck equipment but this is an excellent company. I've been dealing with them for 20 years or better.

Stan Mijal
04-29-2006, 10:02 PM
Burt,

You are correct, it is Woodworkers Supply. I have heard many comment very positively regarding this company in general, and thats why I simply didn't write this planer off. If the machinery is half as good as peoples experence with the company on other fronts, this could be a decent value.

Allen Bookout
04-29-2006, 11:10 PM