PDA

View Full Version : P&N bowl gouges

Steve Hayes
04-25-2006, 2:30 PM
Just got the new bowl gouges and now I'm making handles. The shaft on one is 3/8 and the other is 1/2. Do I need to drill the same size and epoxy the tools into the handles or do I need to go slightly smaller and use a mallet to hammer the handles on. Hitting the handle of course, not the blade.

Mike Vickery
04-25-2006, 3:07 PM
When I made mine I drilled the same size and used epoxy. I have been using them for about 2 years with no trouble.

Andy Hoyt
04-25-2006, 3:23 PM
Same size, epoxy, and drill a snoodge deeper than you intend to set the tang.

Joe Fisher
04-26-2006, 10:15 AM
Ok, I'll be different :) I drilled for a snug fit (don't remember if it was the same size or undersize), put a copper ferrule on, started the tang in the hole, and rapped the butt of the handle on my bench until the tang was fully seated. Let gravity do the work. No glue.

I've been using them about a year. Roughing gouge, bowl gouge, and detail gouge. I do like the P&N's very much.

-Joe

Steve Hayes
04-26-2006, 11:25 AM
Made one last night 16" long, the 3/8 hole was snug, Tried it and worked great but then I started working on the one that was suppose to have a 1/2 shaft and found that it was about a 1/16 smaller that 1/2. Rather irritating when it's in the catalog and on their website as 1/2 inch. So now I have to find a bit to fit.

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
04-26-2006, 11:46 AM
Made one last night 16" long, the 3/8 hole was snug, Tried it and worked great but then I started working on the one that was suppose to have a 1/2 shaft and found that it was about a 1/16 smaller that 1/2. Rather irritating when it's in the catalog and on their website as 1/2 inch. So now I have to find a bit to fit.

Steve, I guess that is what epoxy is for :rolleyes:

Joe Fisher
04-26-2006, 12:16 PM

I'm pretty sure that's because it's a metric sized shaft. 12mm is actually 0.47 inches. That's roughly 1/32 less than 1/2".