PDA

View Full Version : Nova 3000.........?????

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
04-24-2006, 2:27 AM
I looked hard at that older lathe here, the Iida one, big 3 phase, etc. but the over bed is only 6" so a 12" bowl is the limit, there is outboard turning on the back side of the headstock, but that area is not accessible for me with my lathe spot.

So, I'm forgetting about that lathe, and looking for others.

A buddy here, another Canuck, has the Nova DVR and very much likes it. He suggested the Nova 3000, which, with a chuck, and other stuff would fit my budget better.

Any comments on this lathe?

Or something similar that I could have shipped to Japan?

Most of the larger lathes seem to come with the big heavy legs, I do not need these, and they would kill me for shipping, I have a well made solid stand.

OK, let er rip, opinions please! :D

Cheers!

Barry Stratton
04-24-2006, 2:55 AM
Well Stu,

You know I'm a rookie and no next to nothing.......but, I've been trying to decide between a Oneway 2436, Powermatic 3520, and a Nova DVR 3000 as a retirement present to myself next year (unless Steve wants to sell that Oliver he's restoring........). I think the Nova 3000 is the same lathe, minus a couple bells and whistles, as the DVR.

So, DO IT!!!!! What are you asking for....... times a wasting. Order now and it'll be on a boat headed your way...... Too bad you can't get one shipped direct from China. seems like that would be cheaper than China to North America, then to Japan.......

04-24-2006, 5:20 AM
Well that is what my buddy Alex basically told me, I can also get bed extensions, though I doubt that I'll be doing much spindle work longer than the 24" I get with the normal bed.

I fired an e-mail to the guys in Australia, where their "International" offices are.

One thing about getting the lathe from the US, from say Woodcraft, is I could get all the other things I need at the same time, tools, chucks etc.