PDA

View Full Version : Another new guy with questions!

Nick Englesby
04-22-2006, 5:15 PM
Hello everyone!

I discovered the creek a few months ago and im hooked. My day is not complete without spending some time reading the latest posts. I have not really made any "official" wood projects, just some stuff for our yard and house.

I have a few power tools, CMS, TS, Circular, Jig etc etc etc.

The problem is that I want to get bigger and better everything. This is where im asking for alot of advice from people who know.

I am new to woodworking but im not a complete newby. I have 8 years of CNC and manual machining in my past.

The first item I want to upgrade is the table saw. Current saw is an old Craftsman with little power and a very sad fence. What ive been looking at are the older Rockwell Unisaws 3hp/3phase. I like the heavy older stuff (I think).

I would like to know what the creekers thoughts are on buying a new saw vs and old Uni.

And some pics of my yard work, the trelis is overbuilt to the Nth degree. each post is 4 2x4x10s 3'in the ground with a bag of concrete each! Hey we get a lot of hurricanes here on the coast. My daughter and her sandbox and the projects all look better that farther away they are.

thanks for any advice in advance

as for my projects, my wife and daughter like them and I had to start somewhere!

Tyler Howell
04-22-2006, 5:21 PM
Welcome Nick.
They just don't make it like that any more!:(
So get what you want.
Caution on 3 phase. A doable task but it doesn't lend it self easily or cheaply to most shop environments. Good luck and keep reading.
I'm sure my fellow creekers with 3 ph. experience will chime in;).
PS picture police seal of approval.

Joe Chritz
04-22-2006, 5:24 PM
I would not have any problem with an old unisaw. They have been built right for many many years. If it doesn't have a really good fence be sure to add a few hundred for a decent fence. It will make or break a saw.