PDA

View Full Version : Festool Report (Gloat and tool report-long)

Lloyd Robins
08-24-2003, 2:14 AM
I am relatively new to SMC. I have received help and good advise, and I thought that I would let you know about my most recent purchase. It might help someone who is looking at a ROS and a vacuum.
I received my Festool order this week. After listening to a lot of you guys and talking with Bob Marino, I got agreement from the LOML to give one of their tools a try. Then Bob told me about the 20 percent off on the first order (I think until the end of Sept.) I got figuring that instead of just a hose, a dust extractor wasn't that much more. Hmmm...
Anyway I ended up buying a 150/5 ROS and the CT MINI dust extractor. When you add up the extras even with the discount, it was a large piece of change for me, and I was worried that I had overspent. When I got them I found them to be well packaged and noted that they had been shipped exactly as promised. As far as the tools, I will start with the ROS. It is absolutely wonderful! :D I had read a review that stated that it vibrated less at lower speeds. I really can't tell that there is much difference in vibration at any speed. Compared to by old Bosch it has almost no vibration at any speed. This makes it easy to control and use for extended sanding. The 150/5 has the larger orbit of the two 6" ROS sanders. It is satisfyingly agressive, but it also leaves a nice finish with a proper grit. (180 seems to do the trick, but I intend to try the 220.) It connects up easily to the CT Mini dust extractor.