PDA

View Full Version : Saddle Leather Coasters

Russ Hazlewood
04-18-2006, 12:29 AM
Check out the saddle leather coasters I made for my law firm using my Epilog 45W.

http://www.discoveryfile.com/sawmill/coasters.JPG

This is my first attempt at engraving leather. It worked much better than I'd hoped.

The leather is about as thick as the sole of a new dress shoe. The lighter coasters are unstained, but sealed with leather sheen. The darker coasters at the top are stained with british tan stain and sealed. The coaster at the front (out of focus) is unstained, but sealed. I engraved it as a negative of the others. The process makes it appear brown with a slight red tint, and the letters are raised. It looks pretty cool.

In vector cutting, the laser charred the edges of the coasters, but the finish seals it, and it looks like an edge dressing.

I plan to make these as gifts and for marketing my practice. I'm in the process of laying out a pattern for a leather coaster stand. Other ideas or tips would be welcome.

Lee DeRaud
04-18-2006, 1:16 AM
Those are cool. Where did you get the leather?

Russ Hazlewood
04-18-2006, 1:34 AM
I bought the leather from the local Tandy Leather store. I'd say its about 1/4" thick. I paid about $7-$8 per square foot. (You have to buy a whole piece - mine was about 13.5 square feet). I cut the leather to 12" X 24" sheets using a C&H mat cutter. The sheets are remarkably uniform, stiff, and flat.

I engraved the leather at 100% speed, 50% power. I cut it according to the EPILOG book specs (can't remember right now).

The engraving is easy -- staining the leather uniformly is more difficult.

The Tandy Store has lots of scrap leather for experimenting. (They charge a nominal amount for the scraps). I was displeased with my results from other types of leather.

I was just glad to make something that looked professional with my machine. The folks at the office are tired of hearing me talk about my laser infatuation.

Dave Fifield