PDA

View Full Version : Bevel Cutting Jig - Good Idea?

John Ellison
08-23-2003, 7:49 AM
Been lurking a while and really have learned a lot...

I decided it was too much trouble to change the blade angle on my table saw when I wanted to cut a bevel and then get it back to 90.

I decided to build a jig that slides along the fence and has an adjustable "wing" so I can pass a board across the blade at any angle up to about 5 degrees. The wing is hinged and swings up to 90 and lays down on the fence for the other extreme.

It seems to work well enough in the few cuts I've made and with the board clamped to the jig it seems safe. As a newbie, I'm wondering if I am missing something and that this may not be a good idea.

John
Central AL

Todd Burch
08-23-2003, 10:35 AM
Hi John!

Anytime you can make a jig that secures your work and you feel safe doing the operation, I consider that (as Martha Stewart would say) a good thing.

Even with the jig, though, I would encourage you to overcome your hesitation with tilting your blade. You should be comfortable enough to command your tablesaw and not be limited by uncertainty of incorrect settings. There should be a 90° stop (or 0° stop) and a 45° stop. Take the time and set these spot-on so you never have to question yourself, or the saw, again. Here's how to do that.

First, to set the 0° stop. Start by assuming that it is perfectly straight and prepare a piece of 2X4 stock for later tests. Cut a piece about 2' long (should be long enough) and joint one edge square and one face flat. Send it through the planer to make the faces smooth and parallel. Then, rip it on your tablesaw to about 3" wide (or just under), assuming you have a 10" blade. Don't worry about ripping at this stage if it's not at a perfect 0° - it doesn't matter for this test. Now, you are ready to start testing your saw.