PDA

View Full Version : Best way to remove wax???

Brian Hale
04-15-2006, 11:28 AM
Someone screwed up a finish I'm working on :rolleyes: and i need to remove the wax (from rubbing it out) to add another layer of finish. What's the best way, mineral spirits?

Thanks

Brian :)

Gary Keedwell
04-15-2006, 11:31 AM
Yes....Mineral Spirits....elbow grease...and alot of rags or paper towels.

Frank Fusco
04-15-2006, 6:06 PM
turpentine.

David Eisenhauer
04-15-2006, 11:46 PM
Naptha or maybe called VMP Naptha, same thing. Good for wax removal, general pre-finishing wipedown, label remover, and wiping poly thinner for slightly faster drying than mineral spirits.

Bob Rufener
04-16-2006, 12:11 AM
You might try using an iron over an absorbent cloth or heavy paper toweling to try to melt and absorb a majority of the wax. I have never tried this before on wood but it should work. This would be followed by a solvent and scrubbing. Good luck!

Allen Bookout
04-16-2006, 1:42 AM
Has anyone tried the wax remover that the automotive guys use to remove wax from automobiles before sanding and painting. I know it works great for that purpose but do not know about furniture wax and wood finishes. If it did work it would save a lot of elbow grease. Allen

lou sansone
04-16-2006, 7:03 AM
Has anyone tried the wax remover that the automotive guys use to remove wax from automobiles before sanding and painting. I know it works great for that purpose but do not know about furniture wax and wood finishes. If it did work it would save a lot of elbow grease. Allen

yes ... have used this for 10 years with very good success... ppg "acrylic- clean". It supposedly removes waxes and silicones. years ago in my former electrician days, I worked for an electrical sigh company. We built all types of lighted signs and had a 20 foot spray booth for finishing them. all surfaces were always wiped down with this cleaner to prevent fish eye. I have used it ever since in cases like this.

Lou

Howard Acheson