PDA

View Full Version : Another Panel Problem

Ron Robinson
04-12-2006, 8:48 AM
I had been following the recent thread started by Mr. Peacock concerning a glue-up that was not flat when the following happened to me. Being a relative novice I need some help figuring out what went wrong.

I'm making a night stand to be used as a telephone table. The plans are in Woodsmith, the stand is made of cherry ply with a base and top made of solid wood. The top and base are to be dyed darker than the cabinet. Anyway...

This is the top. 20" x 19". I started with 4/4 rough cherry that had been in my shop for more than a month. Jointed faces and edges, planed to 3/4", and glued up four boards about 5 1/4" wide. No biscuits, just edge to edge.

The panel after glue-up was good. Pretty flat with just a slight misalignment of one board. I sanded the panel with my belt sander on one side only with 150 grit. I then had to go out for a time (about 4 hours) and when I got back the panel was cupped so much a straight edge placed across the boards had a gap of more than 1/16" under the center. The growth rings were alternated.

Is this stress relief or a moisture problem? What did I do wrong?

Ron Robinson

Jamie Buxton
04-12-2006, 11:16 AM
A sixteenth of an inch of cup across a 20" top isn't a problem. When you fasten it to the rest of the carcass, it will get pulled flat. In the long term, it is the rest of the structure which ensures that the top stays flat.

Steve Clardy
04-12-2006, 11:25 AM
Not a problem. It will pull down when attached.

Ted Shrader
04-12-2006, 11:32 AM
Ron -

As the others said - no problem.

What happened? If it was laying flat on a work bench top or something, one side absorbed a little more moisture than the other. It should return to flat after the wood stabilzes again. Your top was only trying to give a little lesson in wood movement. ;)