PDA

View Full Version : newbie

Jason Boushard
04-09-2006, 10:47 AM
Hi guys I am a newbie. I am a member of the tidewater turners but I am only doing pens at the moment. I would like to learn how to make bowls and other things but I dont have a chuck for my lathe yet. I have been going thru the posts and you all do very nice work. I hope I can step up and do the same. I have been turning for about 5 weeks now. Here is my latest pen.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/hazegry/wood%20working/100_4676.jpg

Bernie Weishapl
04-09-2006, 10:51 AM
Hi Jason. Welcome to SMC. Lots of good people and lots of knowledge here. We like pictures so post'em as you turn'em. That is a great looking pen Jason. What kinds of wood did you use? What kind of finish? Great work and keep it up. Looks like you are of to a great start.

Cecil Arnold
04-09-2006, 10:57 AM
Welcome to the creek Jason. Nice pen.

Jason Boushard
04-09-2006, 10:58 AM
its african blackwood with a bloodwood centerband the finish is ca

Don Baer
04-09-2006, 11:05 AM
Nice pen Jason. If you want to do face turning all you need is a faceplate. A chuck is handier but not necessary.

George Conklin
04-09-2006, 11:06 AM
Hi Jason. Welcome to the Vortex. There are a lot of great pen turners here. You'll fit iin perfectly:) .

Corey Hallagan
04-09-2006, 11:08 AM
Wow, that is a great looking pen. Nice work on the centerband! I love A Blackwood and it looks like you got the CA finish down! Welcome to SMC Jason and your in good company, we got lots of newbies here and lots of seasoned turners to help us out!

Corey

Ernie Nyvall
04-09-2006, 11:12 AM
Very nice pen Jason.

I agree with don on the faceplate. I didn't have a chuck on my first bowls and use a faceplate and a glue block. It works fine.

Ernie

Christopher K. Hartley
04-09-2006, 11:30 AM
Welcome Jason, Nice pen, can't wait to see what you do with a box or bowl...or for that matter a BONKER! Just keep reading, these guys have an answer for almost everything.