PDA

View Full Version : Need a quick answer to a Rail and stile bit question - UPDATED, trouble determined

Mark Rios
04-06-2006, 2:25 PM
I've got a Freud 99-263 Rail and Stile bit matched set. While setting the bits up to use and making practice fittings, I noticed that there is a little bit of play between the cope and the stick. Is this normal? It isn't much play bit it definately isn't a snug fit. If this is normal, how does it glue up properly?

Also, when I put the two bits together, aligning the proifiles, they really don't match very well. Kinda confusing for me but this is my first time using cope and stick bits and my bonehead factor is in play.

I'm ready to start routing these edges and I really can't afford any more down time (the rain has really killed me and the owner is getting very frustrated) but if I need to I guess I could go buy another set if I had to.

Any help or ideas?

Thanks very much for any help and advice.

Brent Harral
04-06-2006, 2:44 PM
You should be able to dry fit them with just a little resistance. The glue will swell the wood a hair, but they really should be kinda snug. Of course, do the cope cuts first and then a sample rail so they go together nicely while laying on a flat surface. Also (and I'm sure you know this) think ahead to the thickness of your panel so your grooves are "in the right place" :D - with a 3/4" (backcut) or a 5/8" panel. It just kinda stinks when the panel is a hair proud of the frame and then you have to drum sand/sand the whole panel again after the door is together..hope this makes sense! (you did say any advice..!)

Good luck.

Mark Rios
04-06-2006, 3:16 PM