PDA

View Full Version : Norton antivirus re-new or try AVG ?

Kent Parker
04-05-2006, 9:03 AM
The Norton anti-virus is telling me that my year is up tomorrow and time to renew.

I had hear that AVG is as good and works without slowing your computor down.

Anyone had experience with AVG??

Cheers,

Kent

tod evans
04-05-2006, 9:10 AM
kent, if by avg you mean kaspersky? i`ve been using it for several years with no problems..02 tod

George Sanders
04-05-2006, 9:17 AM
I've been using AVG free home edition for about 2 years now and I'm quite happy with it. You can set it to scan on boot up or at a specific time of day. It will slow down you computer somewhat but it really depends on what type processor you have and how much memory is installed.
I had Norton in the past and I don't like buying something every year so I tried AVG and have used it ever since.
You can find out more information at PC World.com They have online reviews and tutorials.

Kent Parker
04-05-2006, 9:22 AM
kent, if by avg you mean kaspersky? i`ve been using it for several years with no problems..02 tod

Tod, I only know it as AVG. see here http://www.grisoft.com/doc/1

Cheers,

KP

tod evans
04-05-2006, 9:25 AM
Tod, I only know it as AVG. see here http://www.grisoft.com/doc/1

Cheers,

KP

kent, here`s what i`ve been using with good luck;
http://www.kaspersky.com/
.02 tod

Ron Jones near Indy
04-05-2006, 10:47 AM
I am very pleased with AVG. My computer guru recommended it over Norton.

Larry Browning
04-05-2006, 11:04 AM
Another free option is www.avast.com (http://www.avast.com) I have been using it for over a year after I got fed up with NAV performance issues and extreme cost especially when it is installed on all 3 computer I have!
The only thing I wish I could do with avast is to schedule it to run a full scan on a periodic basis.(pro version does this) It scans email and downloads as the come in, and new definition files are downloaded automatically almost every day.