PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Scraper needed ?

Howie French
04-03-2006, 8:58 PM
I am pretty new to turning and I am most interested in turning bowls.
As of now I am primarily using a bowl gouge (fingernail grind). I also have a 1/2 round nose scraper that I sometimes use to smooth out the inside bottom.

I am considering getting a bowl scraper thinking it will help me finish the inside of the bowl. Is this tool worth getting or should I just get better with the bowl gouge. I don't want to spend the money if this is something that I shouldn't need.

How do you guys finish off the inside of your bowls.

Howie

Mark Cothren
04-03-2006, 9:14 PM
Hey Howie,

I'm still relatively new to turning, but I use a bowl scraper on probably every bowl I turn. These old hands may not need 'em, but I find it to be a valuable bowl-turning tool. Especially on deeper bowls.

Just my two pennies worth...............................Mark

Pete Jordan
04-03-2006, 10:05 PM
I am also new but this is the scraper that I bought and like it so far.
http://www.woodchipshome.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WC&Product_Code=2563W&Category_Code=SC

David Fried
04-03-2006, 10:13 PM
I am also new but this is the scraper that I bought and like it so far.

Pete,

Is that a bowl scraper? Round nose, square, etc. I understand - I'm just not clear on what a bowl scraper is. Thanks.

John Hart
04-03-2006, 10:19 PM
Howie, I use a 1.25" round nose scraper to sweep lightly through the bottom. I like it.:)

Keith Burns
04-03-2006, 10:26 PM
Pete,

Is that a bowl scraper? Round nose, square, etc. I understand - I'm just not clear on what a bowl scraper is. Thanks.

Bowl scrapers are much heavier (thicker and wider) that standard scrapers. But the most important tool is the 80 grit gouge.

Pete Jordan
04-03-2006, 10:31 PM
Pete,

It's what it is advertised as and yes it is heavy.

Pete

Howie French
04-03-2006, 10:36 PM