PDA

View Full Version : Tool dull?

Roger Bailey
04-02-2006, 11:01 AM
I started working on making a goblet last night out of some curly maple. I have in the past only did between center turning. Since I now have a lathe able to turn bowls and such I am trying to learn. I do not know if it is just my technique or are my gouges getting dull that fast. I can barely cut the end grain. I started out fine for the first quarter inch or so. The tools I am using are new this is their first use. Does this type of wood dull tools that fast or am I just doing something to cause it? The wood is about 7 inches in diameter. What is the proper tool to hollow it out? Thanks for helping this newbee out!

Lee DeRaud
04-02-2006, 11:08 AM
I'm a newbie myself, so I don't have any answers to your questions.

But seeing "goblet" and "seven inches in diameter" used together tells me you're somebody who takes their drinking seriously. :eek:

I like that. :cool:

Ken Fitzgerald
04-02-2006, 11:11 AM
Roger...........mind you this is based on my limited experience!

1st......You need sharp tools. New tools doesn't mean they are sharp! I know....last night I tried using my new expensive bowl gouge....Then I went to the grinder.........Big difference after sharpening!