PDA

View Full Version : Box Joints

Joseph Doran
04-01-2006, 9:52 AM
I am relatively new to woodworking and I am working on a project that involves some exposed box joints. I built a jig for my table saw and used it in the past with success on box joints that weren’t exposed. The problem is I am using an inexpensive stacked dado set and I am disappointed with the results. The bottoms are not flat and the sides aren’t straight.

I have been reading a lot of posts and reviews on saw blades and I will attest that my experience adds up like others that buying cheap will end up costing more. Fortunately I don’t have a lot invested in the dado set. I use a Forrest WWII for most of my other work and I am very pleased with the results.
<O:p
I am looking for some input on if I would be better off buying the Freud SBOX8 box joint blades or invest in a high quality stack dado set.

Dennis Peacock
04-01-2006, 9:55 AM
I am looking for some input on if I would be better off buying the Freud SBOX8 box joint blades or invest in a high quality stack dado set.

I have read several good reviews on the SBOX8 and plan on getting one when I get the money. I love exposed box joints and this will hold true until I can master hand cutting of dovetails. ;) :D

Jim Becker
04-01-2006, 10:12 AM
Welcome to the 'Creek, Joseph!

Like Dennis, I have also heard good things on the new Freud box joint set. If I started doing these joints, I'd definitely consider it for my arsenal.

Brad Evans
04-01-2006, 11:26 AM
Joseph, I have the Freud Box Joint blade set - it works great.

A note of caution... I first purchased mine through Amazon and it came with a chipped tooth. Sent it back for another one - the replacement had a chipped tooth as well.

Sent that back for a refund and found a local store that had it where I could inspect at the counter.

Brad
Urban pix: www.citysnaps.net

Tom Pritchard
04-01-2006, 11:43 AM