PDA

View Full Version : Help for a rookie

Mike Daimler
03-30-2006, 1:36 PM
I am trying to learn more about woodworking and found this forum in a web search. It looks really great with a lot of people helping each other. This is my first post so here it goes.:)

I am an absolute rookie to woodworking and as my first project I am going to try and put up crown molding and some window trim in my home. I went out and bought a Craftsman compressor and three gun package and would now greatly appreciate some hints and advise. I have never used a nail gun so I don’t know the first thing about how to use it effectively.

Some of the questions I have are:

1) I plan on using a 16 gauge “finish nailer” with 2 ½ inch nails/brads. Does that sound OK?

2) The manual says to adjust the air pressure to the lowest setting that will drive the nail in. Then there appears to be an adjustment that lets you raise or lower the nose piece, I guess to fine tune the counter sinking depth. Any hints or words of advice would be appreciated.

3) If I set the pressure up with a sample molding being nailed into a stud, will the nail go right through the molding if I do not hit a stud when I actually start putting the molding up?

Any other help or words of advice, hints, etc… are most appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike…

Kyle Kraft
03-30-2006, 2:29 PM
Mike,

Welcome to the creek!! As far as the nail gun questions go see what works and run with it. You may have to fill nail hole here or there but that's woodworking.

Kyle in K'zoo

Chuck Trisdale
03-30-2006, 2:35 PM
1st: Welcome. Obviously I am pretty new too. I lurked for a long time and then signed up so I could converse with these guys.

I have used 16 gauge to hang crown before, so it will work. I do have a new PC Crown Stapler though and it works like a champ.

I think I was using 2 inch nails in mine, so your length is OK. You are going to have to hit the top and bottom of the crown - not down the center, but that is how I hang it anyway