PDA

View Full Version : Black hands???

Tom Jones III
03-28-2006, 11:21 AM
Last night I turned 2 bowls from fresh green mesquite. Afterwards both hands had something black on them that I could not wash off no matter what I scrubbed with or what type of soap I used. It was almost like an ink or dye that had soaked into my skin. 30' later I was sitting down reading when I noticed my hands shaking. This morning the black has mostly disappeared but both hands are shaking and a little painful in the hands and up my arms. Has anyone experienced this before? What do you do, wear gloves? Maybe it is just an allergy to certain woods?

BTW, this doesn't seem to be a major problem requiring medical help right now, it is getting better and if it is not gone entirely pretty soon I'll get it looked at.

Keith Burns
03-28-2006, 11:29 AM
Tom I am not a medical professional or even an amature but if it was me I'd go to the Doctor now. Always better safe than sorry.

Bernie Weishapl
03-28-2006, 11:32 AM
Wouldn't wait as you may have had a major allergic reaction to the wood. Just my $1.298.

John Hart
03-28-2006, 11:38 AM
If it were me, I'd want to find out exactly what it was Tom. I've not seen the ink stain from any of the mesquite I've worked with so far. But it might be worth taking a sample of the wood with you as well. Maybe there's a cool elixer that'll cure cancer or something!:)

Mark Cothren
03-28-2006, 11:41 AM
When I turn green wood that is really wet my left hand gets black - but it is from the wet metal of the tool rest, as best I can tell. It washes off some, but usually takes a day or two to completely go away.

Other than that I have not experienced what you have described. As has already been suggested, I'd probably visit my doc ASAP.

Andy Hoyt
03-28-2006, 12:24 PM
I've had walnut stain me from head to toe and had to wait days for it to totally wear itself off. I attributed the coloration to the heavy tannins in the wood.