PDA

View Full Version : MKII guide set

John Kain
03-27-2006, 7:10 PM
I just got a couple of my handplane blades sharpened for me. 2 blades, 20 bucks. I'm thinking I'd rather just do it myself from now on. I don't use chisels or planes enough to justify one of the expensive MKII or Tormek systems. But I do want to look at simple guide/waterstone sharpeners.

I'm looking at this set up from Lee Valley with the MKII guide for $68.50. I'd appreciate any insight you might be able to give me...........

Thanks.....

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=32968&cat=1,43072,43078,45936

Brian Hale
03-27-2006, 7:40 PM
It's a Top Notch system! I'm just getting into hand plane use and what i've found thus far is that a sharp plane blade is a requirement or tear out becomes a problem. Doing a touch up on my BUJ means i need to maintain a consistant bevel angle and using the LV MKII guide is simple and fast. I can pull the blade out, touch it up on some 600 grit wet/dry paper and be back to work in just a few minutes. It's reapeatable, simple and fast, everything i'd hoped it would be.

You may want to go with the sandpaper method (aka scary sharp) instead of water/oil stones as i find i get better results in less time with no mess. All you need is a flat work surface like a tablesaw or jointer bed.

Brian :)

Dave Anderson NH
03-27-2006, 7:43 PM