PDA

View Full Version : The Far Side

Glenn Hodges
03-27-2006, 2:44 PM
This is the other side of that log from which the NE bowl I posted yesterday was made. I have never done this sort of thing before, well maybe only a time or two. What are your comments about leaving the hole rather than patching it as I normally do on a NE bowl? Your input would be appreciated.

Keith Burns
03-27-2006, 2:48 PM
Man Glenn, you're killing me here. This makes two perfect ones in a row:) I'm glad you left the hole. Adds much more interest than a patch would. Great Job.

John Miliunas
03-27-2006, 2:54 PM
Glenn, leaving it "Au naturale" gets my vote! :) Beautifully done piece, BTW! What was your finishing routine on it? Looks great! :) :cool:

Bernie Weishapl
03-27-2006, 3:03 PM
Glenn that is awesome. Great work. I hope to do one of those soon.

Mark Cothren
03-27-2006, 3:16 PM
Keith beat me to it... you're KILLIN' me here...:D

I love the bowl and think the hole just gives is a boost of character (like it needs any boost :rolleyes:).

That finish looks like it is coated in glass. Very nice!

Thanks for the pictures!

Bill Grumbine
03-27-2006, 3:22 PM
Glenn, two great looking bowls you have posted from this tree! The big difference is that you can charge more for the one with the hole in it.

Bill

Mark Patoka
03-27-2006, 3:26 PM
Very nice looking. I say for a natural knothole that size to leave it as is. I think filling a hole that size would look out of place. It adds character to the piece.

Chris Barton
03-27-2006, 4:44 PM
Stunning work as always. I love the finish!

Gary Max
03-27-2006, 4:49 PM
I add extra for the holes-----Great job.

Ken Fitzgerald
03-27-2006, 4:49 PM
Glenn.......stunning......the hole just adds to the feel of the whole piece! Stunning!

Bruce Shiverdecker
03-27-2006, 4:50 PM
Definitely.........LEAVE THE HOLE. You won't believe the comments I get on ones where I left the hole.