PDA

View Full Version : Turning DVD's

Chuck Beland
03-26-2006, 6:30 AM
Hey guy's & Gal's,
I just ordered Bill Grumbines DVD on how to turn. Yup I'm a newbie/ Are there any other DVD's that you advise me to get?

Chuck

John Hart
03-26-2006, 7:37 AM
Hi Chuck! I never got to say "Welcome" on your introduction thread....must have missed that the first go-round. Welcome to the abyss!!!

I've never tried to turn a DVD. Good luck...we're counting on you.

David Fried
03-26-2006, 8:24 AM
Chuck,

I haven't gotten Bill's DVD, yet, but I did pick up Del Stubbs DVD at WoodCraft.
It seems to be older but I certainly enjoyed it and learned a few things.

Since we're less than 60 miles apart we could swap DVDs one week if you're interested.
Let me know.

Dave Fried

Jim Becker
03-26-2006, 9:08 AM
Bill's is great...you'll really get a lot out of it. Del Stubb's video that David mentioned is really nice for learning how to work very wet wood.

Ken Fitzgerald
03-26-2006, 9:32 AM
The Richard Raffan videos from FWW are excellent too! I, also, have Bill Grumbine's video. I like both videos but they have different purposes. Raffan will take you through the basic use of all tools. If you have followed my threads recently, I have kind of followed his progression on the video......bonkers(turning exercises), weed/bud vases, boxes and then bowls.

If you have never turned (I hadn't nor had I watched someone turned) you are in for the time of your life! I don't think I'll ever forget chucking up my first piece of wood between centers; checking the tool rest for clearance and proper distance; turning on the lathe.....standing there with a roughing gouge in hand.....thinking "I'm supposed to put this...on that?...." It took me about 5 seconds to overcome the fear..What a kick! I've truly been blessed with a very understanding wife....and she'll tell you upfront....She can't remember when she saw me having this much fun!