PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw Blade For Tenons

Dennis McDonaugh
08-13-2003, 4:45 PM
I'm using my Forrest Blade to cut tenons on the table saw, but its an ATB blade and I'd like something that with a flat tooth. I checked Lowes and Hd and all the blades they had in stock were ATB and most were thin kerf. I'd like the regular kerf width. Any suggestions?

Kevin Gerstenecker
08-13-2003, 4:49 PM
Dennis, if you don't want to use your Forrest Blade to cut your Tenons, I would suggest a Freud Blade in the configuration of your choice. Freud Blades are no Forrest, but I have used them for cutting Tenons for many projects, and the results I had were fine. I also hear that the new line of Dewalt Blades are supposed to be very good, but I have no experience with them.

Lee Schierer
08-13-2003, 4:59 PM
I use a 60 tooth Freud blade for the cheek cuts and a 24 tooth Freud ripping blade for the face cuts with my Delta tenon jig. Works great. The face cuts are actually ripping anyway.

Bruce Page
08-13-2003, 11:18 PM
Dennis, I think what you are looking for is a Flat Top Grind – FTG
“Teeth with flat tops and faces separate wood fibers with a chipping action to lift out waste like tiny paddles. Designed for general ripping, they cut efficiently with the grain”.

One of the outside blades from a stacked dado set would probably give you what you're looking for.

Jim Becker
08-14-2003, 10:07 AM
One of the outside blades from a stacked dado set would probably give you what you're looking for.

Many of the stacked dado sets' outside blades actually have teeth configured to slice "just a hair" deeper at the outside edge; some are more pronounced than others. While this promotes a very clear, tear-free cut in certain difficult materials, it will leave a mark on the tenon. That being said, it's minimal and is not going to hurt a glue joint. In fact, it may make it better. It's also much less pronounced then an ATB blade like the WW-II.

Dennis McDonaugh
08-14-2003, 10:09 AM